2014 Awards Banquet Highlights

Events News April 19, 2014


Here are some highlights from the 2014 Annual Awards Banquet held at the Riverview Community Centre on Saturday, April 12, 2014.

Photos by Marcel Druwé

Quote of the evening…

“It is good to do things for people.”

Laura McMaster sharing what her father Don McMaster said when she asked him recently why he does what he does for Bittersweet Ski Club. Don is in his eighties now and he along with his wife Ardythe and their neighbours and friends Hartley & Margaret Woodward are the heart and soul of Bittersweet Ski Club.
Hartley is a real “Jackrabbit”, by the way – in his 90’s and still skiing regularly (when he’s not grooming)!

CCSAM Chair’s Award for Sport Excellence: Victor Chappalaz (Birch Mountain Sports)

Sport Builder of the Year: Kurt Mazur (Riding Mountain Ski Club)

Volunteer of the Year: Lorne Warkentin & Hank Unrau (Boundary Trails Nordic)

Coach of the Year: Pam McDonald (Kenora Nordic)

Club of the Year: Bittersweet Ski Club

Family of the Year: Heather Burdeniuk & Ron, Liam & Gabrielle Pelletier

Special Recognition:

  • Laurie Penton – Instructor of the Year
  • Megan Carter – Team Manitoba Coaching Excellence 
  • Pauline Nadlersmith – Ski Mom & Team Manager of the Year
  • Levin Nadlersmith presented with a big $500 cheque for his 2 silver medals at Easterns & Westerns this season.

Skiers of the Year (Female & Male): Crystal Vilks & Murray Carter (Team Windchill)

Junior Skiers of the Year (Female & Male): Elora Adamson & Dominique Druwé (Red River Nordic)

Juvenile Skiers of the Year: Lisle Compton (Kenora Nordic) & Levi Nadlersmith (Downtown Nordic) & Conor McGovern (Red River Nordic)

Manitoba Master Skier of Distinction: Neil Ferguson (Manitoba Masters & Downtown Nordic)

Most Improved Skiers (Female & Male): Sarah-Lynn Bergen & Levi Warkentine (both Boundary Trails Nordic)

Sport Manitoba Order of Sport Excellence: click here

Manitoba Cup Race Series: click here

Wednesday Night Race Series: click here